Roasted Tomato Basil Soup

We’re in a brief but wonderful intersection of seasons here in Minnesota, where the air is crisp enough to want hot soup for dinner, but the frost hasn’t gotten the last of the summer tomatoes yet.  During the first few days of cooking for this project, a dear friend asked if I wanted some of the extra tomatoes from her garden.  My answer was a definitive “yes.”  It just so happened that the beautiful tomatoes she brought were the perfect amount for Roasted Tomato Basil Soup (The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook, p. 84).  This recipe also calls for a great deal of basil, which (despite my woeful lack of a green thumb) always seems to grow plentifully on my deck.  I’ve never been much of a fan of Campbell’s Tomato Soup, so I spent a long time thinking that I didn’t like tomato soup at all.  This soup changed my mind about that, and it’s especially good with warm rolls on the side.  The leftovers were great with grilled cheese sandwiches the next day for lunch.

The soup in the food mill

The soup in the food mill

1 Comment

Filed under soup

One response to “Roasted Tomato Basil Soup

  1. Vanessa Johnson

    You’ve got me hooked now. I’m going to have to get the cookbook–I am always looking for more ways to use my home-grown basil.

Leave a Reply

