Roasted Eggplant Dip

Small eggplant, big onionI will be the first to admit that this looks like something the cat may have deposited in your shoe.  But trust me when I tell you that it tastes so very delicious.  I made this for a party years ago, and I had a hard time extracting my guests from the appetizers on the sideboard to come to the table for dinner.  I don’t know why I haven’t made it since then, but a half-batch was just the thing to use up the one lonely eggplant from this week’s CSA box.  We’ve already had eggplant parmesan, ratatouille, and eggplant au gratin this summer, so it’s nice to have something new.  (I also had red pepper, red onion, and garlic on hand from the CSA.)  Unfortunately, I should have taken into account the halved size of the batch during the roasting process – some of the veggies got a little charred in the oven, and next time I’ll check them sooner.  Still, the dip tastes fantastic.   It’s listed as an appetizer, but I think it will serve as a healthy snack for us this week instead.  Barefoot Contessa Cookbook, p. 41.  Roasted Eggplant Dip

1 Comment

Filed under Appetizers

One response to “Roasted Eggplant Dip

  1. Pingback: Veggie Tales* | The Contessa-Curessa Project

Leave a Reply

