Deep Dish Apple Pie

If this picture doesn’t make you want to kiss your mama and sing “God Bless America,” then you’re probably a Communist.  I’ve made dozens of apple pies, and I’ve even won Baptist pie contests as a rogue silent competitor, but this one was by far the best.  The instructions didn’t say anything about covering the crust, but I did after about 45 minutes of baking, to prevent burning.  The recipe also called for baking the pie for 1 – 1.25 hours.  I tested the apples at 1 hour and decided they could just use a little bit more cooking, so I turned off the oven but put the pie back in it for 15 minutes, so the apples finished cooking as the oven began to cool off.  That last baking time didn’t affect the crust, because it was already nice and browned.  I make my own pie crust, and it’s really not that difficult, especially with a food processor.  But in a pinch, Trader Joe’s makes a decent frozen version.  The pie plate was a wedding gift from my cooler-than-I-am little brother and his awesome wife.  Barefoot Contessa Family Style, p. 158Deep Dish Apple Pie

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert

Leave a Reply

