Chicken Chili

I’ve made a white chicken chili for years, and was anxious to try out this version (Barefoot Contessa…..) for something different.  I made a half-batch, which still turned out to be plenty for at least 8 main dish servings. As you’ll see from the photo, I made some mistakes.  The onions were supposed to be chopped and not sliced, and the peppers could have been chopped more finely.  I roasted the chicken breasts as directed, and when I started adding the chicken to the chili, it looked like it would be heavy on chicken (perhaps given the size of these particular chicken breasts), so I added half of the recommended amount.  In retrospect, I probably should have added the entire recommended amount of chicken, or at least closer to 3/4 of the recommended amount.

All of that said, though, it still turned out well, and I would definitely make it again.  My husband preferred this over the white version of chicken chili, so I imagine it will be appearing again in our kitchen before winter is over.  The sour cream, as suggested on the side, was essential.

Barefoot Contessa Parties!  p. 232

2 Comments

Filed under dinner

2 responses to “Chicken Chili

  1. Pingback: Mexican Chicken Soup « The Contessa-Curessa Project

  2. Pingback: Book Club Dinner | The Contessa-Curessa Project

Leave a Reply

