Sunday Rib Roast

I will admit my ignorance right here, right now:  I did not know that a standing rib roast was the same thing as Prime Rib.  Is this some kind of regional labeling difference?  No matter – it was just as well that I didn’t know that I was making something intimidating, because it just would have made me nervous.  Regardless, we invited some friends over for a casual pre-holiday dinner, and we had a blast.  The rib roast, I’m thrilled to say, turned out beautifully.  I had a moment of panic before putting it in the oven, realizing that the recipe instructions (p. 76, Barefoot Contessa Family Style) called for a 7 to 8 pound rib roast, while mine was a measly 4+ pounds.  Thinking that a size difference that significant would make a difference in the cooking time and temperature but not having enough time to rectify the situation, I pulled out my trusty companion, How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman.  (In searching for that link, I see that there’s now a revised version of that cookbook, as well as Bittman’s vegetarian version.  Drool.)  Anyway, my friend Mark B. helped me out of this pinch, with cooking times and temperatures for a smaller roast.  We served the meat with the mustard horseradish sauce (Barefoot Contessa Family Style, p. 78).

1 Comment

Filed under dinner

One response to “Sunday Rib Roast

  1. Oh, YUM. I just had to wipe the drool from my chin. I can’t wait to eat undercooked (in a good way) meat again. I realize I may have ruined my chances, but if you ever decide to invite us over for dinner again, we’ll be there in a heartbeat!

Leave a Reply

