Roasted Vegetable Soup with Brioche Croutons

Made with leftovers from Roasted Winter Vegetables, I whipped up a half-batch of this soup the next day for lunch.  It tasted terrific, but I need to say this right now:  hot liquids, my food processor, and I do not play well together.  I don’t know what it is, but every time, it makes a monumental mess that usually ends with the dog licking the floor.  Said dog and I spent the morning at the vet’s office with a too-nasty-to-describe-here ear infection that day, and then we spent the rest of the morning running errands with The Rest of the World on the Saturday before Christmas, leading to a gigantic sinus/pressure headache.  All in all, it wasn’t a good morning to make soup, but I was s.t.a.r.v.i.n.g., and this project isn’t cooking itself.  Theoretically, however, this soup is a breeze, and it would have been if I had just kept the damned hot liquids out of my food processor.  I don’t know what it is – it’s not like I have a cheap knockoff from QVC or something.  It’s the real deal – a Cuisinart, grown-up food processor.  Ah, well.  It tasted good.  And the brioche croutons made it that much better.

Roasted Vegetable Soup:  p. 33, Barefoot Contessa Family Style

Brioche Croutons:  p. 34, Barefoot Contessa Family Style

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner, soup

Leave a Reply

