Parker’s Beef Stew

I had never tried this beef stew recipe (another one for the ugly-but-delicious files, apparently), because I had a nice reliable recipe for beef stew that uses the slow cooker.  So why should I venture out of my comfort zone to try something bold and new?  Bacon, that’s why!

This may replace the recipe in our regular rotation, and one batch was enough for one meal and plenty of leftovers, as well as a huge amount to freeze for a friend.  In my haste to gobble up the first portion, I forgot to take a picture, so what you’ll see here is a photo of leftovers.  Not quite as visually appealing, but still awfully tasty.

Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics, pp. 124-125

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Parker’s Beef Stew

  1. Kristin

    I want to make this recipe but I do not have a dutch oven to cook it in (nor do I have an oven safe pot or the money to purchase a decent dutch oven). I was thinking about starting everything on the stove and then putting it in the crock pot to finish cooking. What are your thoughts (since you just recently made this stew)? A comment that was left on the food network website about this recipe stated that the person put it in the slow cooker for 3 hours and it turned out ok. I just don’t know if that’s 3 hours on high or low.
    Also, what kind of red wine did you use? I usually have Shiraz on hand but I’m not sure if that would work in the stew.
    Any insight you can give me would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!

  2. I think transferring to the crock pot after the initial cooking is a great idea, and I may even try that myself sometime. I would do 3-4 hours on high after the initial cooking, or closer to 5-6 on low.

    I used merlot because we had it on hand. I think anything that you like to drink would be fine. I did not use the entire bottle, and I did not add the unused marinade to the stew – I used beef stock instead, because I don’t feel safe using unused marinade unless it will be boiled to kill bacteria from the raw meat. In this case, since it was only simmering at that point, I felt safer pitching the marinade and adding beef stock instead.

  3. By the way, for anyone looking to purchase a Dutch oven, TJ Maxx/Homegoods/Marshall’s often have discounted models for a fraction of the suggested retail price. There are also Le Creuset outlet stores which sometimes have sales, and there are now some decent knockoff models that have gotten good reviews.

    • Kristin

      You’re right about discounted Dutch ovens. I purchased a 7 quart Martha Stewart Dutch oven at Macy’s about 2 months ago. The 7 quart was on sale for 79.99 (original price was over 100). I have used it a few times now to make jambalaya and it has turned out great! It’s not exactly beef stew weather here in Maryland but I can’t wait until is starts to cool off again in the fall to start making all kinds of soups and stews in my new Dutch oven.

Leave a Reply

