Centennial

This marks my 100th post on this blog!  Yay!  So, in celebration, I bring you a double-header:  Taglierelli with Truffle Butter (Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics) and Broccoli Rabe with Garlic (Barefoot Contessa at Home).

First, a confession.  I had never tried truffles before making this pasta dish.  Oh my.  It’s probably a good thing that I didn’t know what I was missing.  Even just the little shaved bits of truffle in the butter in the sauce made me want to lick the bowl when I was done.  Think of this as a lighter, more sophisticated, elevated fetuccine alfredo.  The truffle butter was slightly pricey, but the overall cost of the meal was not high, because we didn’t have meat.  Still, we were not left wanting – the sauce was rich, and the broccoli rabe was filling, so the truffle butter was a worthwhile splurge.

The broccoli rabe, like so many Contessa vegetable recipes, was inspired.  Just a little extra oomph from the garlic and red pepper flakes made this green vegetable come alive.  We were not disappointed.    

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner, Side dishes and Vegetables

Leave a Reply

