Lentil Vegetable Soup

Lentil Vegetable Soup (Barefoot Contessa Cookbook) is the perfect New Year’s Resolution meal:  it’s inexpensive (budget resolution), it’s ridiculously healthy (weight loss resolution), and it can use up vegetables that have been lingering in the refrigerator (organization resolution).  Besides, it’s warm and comforting, and dried lentils don’t take nearly as long to cook as dried beans.  I can’t feel too virtuous, what with fish and chips and all the other butter-laden goodness that’s come out of our kitchen lately, but I figure that this and the steel-cut oatmeal I down almost every morning, I might be starting to make up for some of the other indulgences.  I love cumin, but I know some of my friends aren’t crazy about it:  if you’re one of those unfortunate souls, try substituting mild chili powder and/or paprika instead.

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner, soup

Leave a Reply

