Split Pea Soup with Parmesan Croutons

Recently, my husband traveled for work.  What kind of work requires an Episcopal priest to travel, you ask?  Something to do with endowments, which sounds more risque than it really is, I assure you.  For the record, I kind of hate it when he travels.  I know I’m lucky that he doesn’t have to travel often (and that he has a job, and that I have a husband… the list goes on.  I’m a lucky lady).  But I’m also fortunate that I still like having him around.  A lot.  He’s home now, but while he was away, my parents were kind enough to visit for a few nights to help me tame the toddler.  In return, I made dinner for them – things that they love, which my husband is not so keen on.  Split pea soup (Barefoot Contessa Cookbook) and parmesan croutons (also Barefoot Contessa Cookbook) probably top that list.  My husband probably likes split pea soup as much as I like his solo travel.

The soup (and the croutons) got raves from my parents, though.  That’s saying something, since they know their way around a bowl of healthy soup, and they’re not shy with their opinions.  The oregano in the split pea soup was a big hit, and we used a whole wheat baguette for the croutons.

5 Comments

Filed under dinner, Side dishes and Vegetables, soup

5 responses to “Split Pea Soup with Parmesan Croutons

  1. Mary

    I did Alton Brown’s curried split pea soup last night (and I know you’re not a fan of curry, but this was awesome). Got the split peas from the bulk section of the coop, so they were super cheap, and they were even local! I’ll try BC’s version next.

  2. Curry is, quite literally, the stuff of nightmares for me. I don’t know what I’m going to do with the BC curry recipes.

  3. But good to know about the local split peas!

  4. Pingback: Happy Mothers’ Day! « The Contessa-Curessa Project

  5. Pingback: Spanish Pea Soup with Crispy Ham | The Contessa-Curessa Project

Leave a Reply

