Coconut Cupcakes

These cupcakes (Barefoot Contessa Cookbook) were the second half of my Easter dessert offering.  In the interest of full disclosure, I made them for the holiday because I don’t care for coconut myself.  I didn’t add coconut to the actual cupcakes, but left the option open to add coconut to the top, or to leave them plain.  While I can’t speak for the coconut, these cupcakes were phenomenal without it.  They’d be a great canvas for adding sprinkles, seasonal berries, edible flowers, or other holiday decorations.  I also used only vanilla extract instead of vanilla and almond extracts in the cupcakes and the frosting.  I love almonds, but almond extract always tastes “off” to me, so I just doubled the vanilla instead.  Here they are, minus frosting and adornment:

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert

Leave a Reply

