Barbecue Sauce

As you could probably guess, the Curessa has been taking a little vacation from blogging (for good reason – apparently, this whole “dealing with an infant” thing is hard). Not wanting hers to fall to the petrified forest of dead blogs, she hired me to guest-post for a little while until the new-baby adventure starts winding down.

For a little background, I’m Micah. I’ve previously appeared in Curessa posts as Hungry Teenage Boy #2 and Train Carrier’s Assistant. I’m a 16-year-old boy, and, odd as it might sound, I really, really like cooking. Like anyone else who comes within a 5-mile radius of the Curessa, I’ve had occasion to try a few Ina Garten recipes. From what I can tell, Ina really likes butter and olive oil, but can write a darn good recipe. Like the Curessa, I’m known for “cooking by ear”, so to speak (much to my mother’s annoyance), but I rarely find the need to do that with Ina’s stuff. Unlike certain authors, she doesn’t use tons of unusual ingredients that can’t be found with a five-minute bike ride to the grocery store.

A few weeks ago, I started making Mark Bittman’s awesome/easy pizza dough, and I’ve always liked barbecue chicken pizza, so after a few tries with store-bought sauce, I decided to try to make a barbecue chicken pizza with homemade sauce.

After an aborted attempt involving Texas-style barbecue sauce that essentially firebombed the mouths of my entire family, I saw that Ina had a barbecue sauce recipe in her first cookbook. It accompanied a barbecued chicken recipe, but after my mom informed me that my dad would rather beat himself over the head with the Oxford English Dictionary than barbecue chicken, I opted for just doing the sauce.

I was skeptical at first, since the recipe called for an absurd number of ingredients:

Thankfully, though, they mixed together to a pleasant-looking sauce:

While the sauce cooked down, I let the dough rise:

Once the sauce was finished, I dressed the pizza before throwing it into a 500-degree (yup, 500-degree) oven:

If you look closely, you can see what the Curessa affectionately refers to as “Satan’s Herb”, or cilantro. At some point, I plan to make a cilantro, blue cheese, and raw onion salad when she comes over, just to see what happens.

Ten minutes later, this came out. It was pretty awesome, I have to say:

While the sauce was amazing on the pizza, it’s been great in the week or so after. The recipe says that the sauce can keep for “months” in the fridge, which I’m a bit skeptical of, but it certainly hasn’t lost any flavor in the last few days. The only way that I can describe the flavor is “intensely barbecue-y”. It tastes, really, how barbecue sauce should taste, with a little heat, a little sweetness, and an ability to enhance other flavors as well as assert itself.

Also, the recipe seems to make enough sauce to fill a small lake, so maybe cut it in half if you don’t think you’re going to use it quite so much. Trust me, though, you’ll probably end up using it more than you’d expect.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Barbecue Sauce

  1. tydwbleach

    HI MICAH!!! This is TYD!!! YOU ARE AWESOME!!!! I AM EXCITED FOR THIS!!!!!!

  2. tydwbleach

    Micah Mark Bittman is AWESOME so are all of his cookbooks And of course I am an INA fan from WAY BACK!

  3. Pingback: Guest bloggers: an invitation | The Contessa-Curessa Project

  4. Pingback: Summer! | The Contessa-Curessa Project

Leave a Reply

