Guest bloggers: an invitation

You’ve all probably seen Micah’s posts (here and here), and I am forever grateful for his help with those recipes.  As you can see here, we’ve come a long way, but we still have a lot of work to do in completing all of the Barefoot Contessa recipes.  And dear Ina has another cookbook coming out this fall!  I wonder if it will have instructions on how to wear a scarf as beautifully as she does.  Probably not.

So, I’d love some help!  Who wants to take on a recipe (or two, or three) and blog about it?  As you can tell, any stream-of-consciousness drivel will do just fine, and photos are much appreciated.

Here’s a list of the recipes I’m really not all that jazzed about.  Do you sense a theme?  Blue cheese, goat cheese, pears, curry, swordfish, fennel, coconut.  Before you get all judgey on that high horse you’re perched on, think about something that you won’t eat. There’s something, right?  If there isn’t, then get cracking on these recipes!

Bruschetta with Gorgonzola
Goat Cheese Tart
Herbed Goat Cheese Sandwiches
Roasted Pears with Blue Cheese (gah)
Roasted Pepper & Goat Cheese Sandwiches
Salad with Warm Goat Cheese
Tomato & Goat Cheese Tarts
Warm Goat Cheese in Phyllo
Fennel Soup Gratin
Roasted Butternut Squash Soup & Curry Condiments
Roasted Potato Fennel Soup
Balsamic Onions and Blue Cheese
Blue Cheese Cole Slaw
Curried Chicken Salad
Curried Couscous
Endive Pear and Roquefort Salad
Endive Stilton & Walnuts
Heirloom Tomatoes with Blue Cheese Dressing
Blue Cheese Burgers
Indonesian Grilled Swordfish
Swordfish with Tomatoes and Capers

Veal Chops with Roquefort Butter

Potato-Fennel Gratin
Coconut Cake
Coconut Macaroons
Coconut Madeleines
Jam Thumbprint Cookies
Pear Clafouti
Pear, Apple & Cranberry Crisp
Pears, English Stilton and Port
Toasted Coconut Marshmallows
Chunky Blue Cheese & Yogurt Dip
Stilton & Walnut Crackers
Onion & Fennel Soup Gratin
Caesar-Roasted Swordfish
Roasted Pear & Apple Sauce

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Guest bloggers: an invitation

  1. tydwbleach

    I just started an AWFUL job where I have no time, EVER. BUT I can tell you that I might try a few of these for you and if I do I will blog about them and take pics. I know that I have made the pear clafouti twice Once with cherries once with pears and people loved it. I have also made the maccaroons but they were very. like sticky… waaaaaay too sweet and they seemed like NOT COOKED enough no matter how long you baked them ofre. Not a fan of them. I ahve also made amny Ina Crisps including the one you have listed here. Honestly they look and takes SOOOO great when you serve them but we have a family of three. My husband, Myself and My 8 year old son. We can each have about one serving of crips and then we are done. it is TOOOOOO much and we end up giving it away to neighbors etc because it just does not tase the same if it is not fresh out of the oven. I realize this is not a true blog [post however, I am willing to try one or two of these for you but I have to decide which ones. I am also not a fan of either blue chees or swordfish. or goat cheese… But some other things I coudl try.

    LOVE YOUR BLOG!!! AND MICAH’s POSTS TOO and your baby is ADORABLE!!!! ( I have seen pics Via O’s FB.) ):):):):)

  2. Chris Swanson

    Contessa,

    I would be happy to take on a few of these items. I am quite fond of Coconut Cake (never made one before) and I would also be happy to work on the Chicken CurrySalad and Curried Couscous. Question about the Goat cheese… do I have to make it? We eat Goat cheese all the time so if I don’t have to ‘make’ the goat cheese tackling some of those recipes would be fairly simple. A good goat cheese is mild and creamy like creamed cheese. We put it in salad all the time and it melts when a citrusy vinegarette is used.

    Let me know ~ ps… Renee can vouch for my abilities in the kitchen.

    • Wonderful! Any or all of those would be fantastic. No, I don’t think making your own goat cheese is necessary for any of those items. Let me know if you have any questions. When you’re finished, your review (and photos, if you take any) can be sent to carrie (dot) willard (at) gmail (dot) com. Thank you!!

      • PS If you can’t find any of the recipes by typing “Barefoot Contessa” and then the name of the recipe in google, let me know and I will type them up for you. Thanks again!!

      • Chris Swanson

        No problem. I’ll let you know what I am working on.

  3. Pingback: Tomato Goat Cheese Tarts | The Contessa-Curessa Project

  4. I would be happy to do a guest post about Swordfish tartare with a mercury/lemon zest compote. Deal?

  5. What do you mean, “Deal?” Do I have to offer some consideration in exchange? You do not want me guest blogging on the Razor. The Internet just can’t handle that much awesome.

Leave a Reply

