Mustard Chicken Salad

I love chicken salad, but I was skeptical about this recipe (How Easy is That?), because I really love a chicken salad with grapes, walnuts, and celery, along with a little Greek yogurt tossed in with the mayo.  Like these!  This one has broccoli in it, and I thought, “Really, Ina?  What a desperate move to drum up another recipe.  You’re a jerk.”  OK, not really.  I didn’t really think that.  But I did think that broccoli was kind of an odd choice here, and I even like broccoli!  Well, this exceeded my expectations, by a lot.  I used the broccoli from our CSA box.  See, it’s Wednesday, which means that our new box comes tomorrow, which means that we need to clean up what’s still in the fridge from last week’s box.  And we had some lonely stalks of broccoli hanging out in there, just kind of waiting for a stir-fry.  To tell the truth, we’re a little tired of stir-fry already, so I was glad to have a little chicken left over from last night’s club sandwiches to try out this salad for lunch.  The CSA newsletter warned that this particular broccoli might have a little spice, or kick, to it, because it’s mid-summer broccoli, and a little sturdier than the spring broccoli.  I thought, really?  Kick?  In broccoli?  But they were right.  It was kind of like an arugula kick, and I did notice the sturdiness because it wasn’t all limp and sad 6 days after we brought it home.  The kick was good in this salad – it went well with the mustard.

 

Changes I made (you had to know this was coming):  we didn’t have any fresh tarragon or white wine, so I was going to use a splash of tarragon vinegar, and then totally forgot.  It’s a good thing I’m not getting paid for this, because I would get fired in a flash.  Also, tomatoes seemed like a bad idea, so I didn’t add them.

Leave a comment

Filed under salad, Sandwich

Leave a Reply

