Spicy Turkey Meatballs

Well, here’s a whopper of a confession.  I made meatballs that were neither spicy nor turkey.  Clutch the pearls.

Ground turkey makes me kind of nervous.  I haven’t found a good organic source, and I question the food safety of ground poultry that may or may not have come from an overcrowded turkey barn.  A lot of grass-fed beef is lower in fat than ground turkey, and generally from safer sources, so that’s what I used here.  I used it with some Italian sausage, which the recipe calls for, and which I suppose did lend some kick to the recipe.  They were really good – but also really heavy.  The original recipe (from How Easy is That?) lists three meatballs in each serving, which would have been an outrageous portion for us.  (And we have healthy appetites!)  Two were more than enough.  I made a full recipe, though, because I didn’t know how to thaw less than the required amount of sausage, and because once I have something like this started, it’s just as easy to make a lot.  I froze a lot of the meatballs, which will be great with sauce added in the winter when our schedule picks up.

 

The recipe calls for jarred sauce (I know, clutch the pearls AGAIN).  It suggests Rao’s, which is really excellent, and probably my favorite.  I combined some Rao’s with some Dave’s Gourmet Heirloom marinara, and I imagine that some roasted heirloom freezer marinara would be especially good, too.

2 Comments

Filed under dinner

2 responses to “Spicy Turkey Meatballs

  1. tydwbleach

    I just saw this on her show re run… AWESOME.

  2. Pingback: Garlic and Parmesan Meatballs in Red Sauce | The Contessa-Curessa Project

Leave a Reply

