Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup

This was not only a great way to use a lot of tomatoes from the CSA box, but it was also a good way to use up the pesky red onion that we got last week.  I will not claim to understand the appeal of a fresh, raw red onion.  Cooked into this soup, however, it was fantastic.

I should have cooked the carrots longer – they were hard to puree, but maybe that’s because I used baby carrots instead of regular ones?  I don’t know.  I also used the food processor instead of the food mill.  I like the idea of the food mill more than I like the use of the actual food mill.  The food processor worked just fine, though, and it produced a rich, creamy soup.  I’m not the world’s biggest tomato soup fan, but even I liked this version (from Back to Basics).  I made a batch for our lunches this week.

 

I have a funny story about tomato soup, actually.  I know you’ve been dying for some good tomato soup hilarity.  I was a camp counselor at my old church camp during the summer between college and law school.  The food at camp often left something to be desired, but as a counselor, I had to set a good example and at least try what was offered.  One lunch time, the cook had made (or tried to make) tomato soup, and I’m fairly sure it was just dumped from giant food-service cans into a pot to heat it.  The whole kitchen and dining room reeked of burned food.  It was, of course, the soup.  The cook had messed up canned soup, bless her heart.  She still served it, though, and I put on my game face and tried a bite.  The camper sitting next to me, also a trooper and a sweet girl, took a big bite and said, “It tastes like someone put their cigarette in here.”  She wasn’t even being malicious – she was just reporting facts.  I told her she didn’t have to eat it.

OK, maybe that was one of those stories where you just had to be there, or know this particular camper, but it still makes me laugh.

2 Comments

Filed under soup

2 responses to “Cream of Fresh Tomato Soup

  1. Laura

    Thanks for the idea! I’m going to give this a try tonight, I have a counter filled with CSA tomatoes too.

  2. Chris Swanson

    When you use red onion – soak the slices in ice water. It helps!

Leave a Reply

