Panzanella

When I first heard of panzanella (bread salad), I thought it sounded abhorrent.  Would it be like cold dressing/stuffing, or a wet sandwich?  I don’t think I realized that the bread is toasted with olive oil, like a crouton, to keep it crunchy.  Now that I know that, and have made it, it’s one of my favorite things, ever.  I should have cut the bread into smaller pieces, but other than that I would not have changed a thing.  It will surprise exactly nobody that I omitted the capers from the recipe (from Barefoot Contessa Parties!).  It was not great the next day, so be sure to only make what you’d like to eat the day that you make it.

3 Comments

Filed under salad

3 responses to “Panzanella

  1. YUMMMMMM You know You can kind of add it ( pureed iof course) the leftovers You can add it to Gazpacho the next day if it has gotten weird THSI IS SOOO GOOD YOU ARE AWESOME!!!!!

  2. Chris

    I was going to suggest the same thing as Liz. Puree the leftovers, add some bell pepper, spices and a little bloody mary mix and you have a delicious gazpacho.

  3. I don’t know if I can get behind the idea of liquefied bread.

Leave a Reply

