Potato Basil Puree

I was a little worried about this recipe (from How Easy is That?) and had been putting it off for a while.  A person might think:  basil?  Good.  Potatoes?  Good.  What’s not to like?  Well, first of all, green potatoes. But also, even though I can make a perfectly serviceable bowl of mashed potatoes without a recipe, for some reason I always screw them up when I use a recipe.  Like this.  And this.

Well, this time, I didn’t manage to read the recipe properly, but they turned out beautifully.  Huh.  I missed the step in the recipe that calls for pureeing the basil with the milk before combining them with the potatoes.  I honestly thought that it was enough of a pain to blanche the basil leaves before using them.  So, I skipped over the milk/basil pureeing step, completely by accident, and went straight for the hand mixer to mash the potatoes with the basil.  I realized pretty quickly that it wasn’t working out, so I went back and pureed the whole mess in the food processor.  In the past, food processor mashed potatoes have turned out to be kind of gluey, but these were just fine.  The flavor was really fantastic – better than what I expected, given the somewhat odd combination.

So, the mystery of mashed potatoes still eludes me, but this time we seem to have gotten lucky.  Speaking of lucky, these would be good for St. Patrick’s Day if you could come by some fresh basil in late winter.  I’m guessing that the green would be incorporated more smoothly if you actually, you know, read the recipe.

1 Comment

Filed under Side dishes and Vegetables

One response to “Potato Basil Puree

  1. Pingback: Chicken & Wild Mushrooms, Crispy Roasted Kale | The Contessa-Curessa Project

Leave a Reply

