Gazpacho

This was a favorite in my high school Spanish class.  No heat or weird ingredients needed!  Before I tried it, I don’t think the idea of it appealed much to me.  Cold soup, with tomato juice as its base?  But this recipe (from the Barefoot Contessa Cookbook) has enough “stuff” in it to make it crunchy and satisfying.  A friend made a batch last summer and brought some over for me during one of the hottest weeks of the year.  I loved it as a mom with a baby who nursed for what felt like fourteen thousand times a day – I could eat my lunch out of a mug, without utensils!  I know that doesn’t sound like the height of sophistication and glamour, but I loved being able to eat/drink some vegetables without making myself any hotter than I already was.

I do not add the vat of olive oil and white wine vinegar listed in the recipe – just a drizzle of each.

 

 

Recipes completed:  326

Remaining:  272

1 Comment

Filed under soup

One response to “Gazpacho

  1. THIS is one of my favorite foods on EARTH. LOVE LOVE LOVE this.

Leave a Reply

