Roast Loin of Pork with Fennel (or Leeks)

I’ve put this  recipe (from Parties!) off because I didn’t want to use fennel.  When our final box from the CSA farm came this week with 4 leeks, I knew exactly what to do.  I substituted the leeks for the fennel, and I used a smaller pork tenderloin instead of a larger pork loin.

 

I served it with sauteed cabbage, and we’ll have leftovers for the next several days.  My husband said it was his favorite way to eat roast pork.  If you’re interested in gooey, falling-apart pork with gravy to be sopped up by mashed potatoes or noodles or spaetzle, this will not be your thing.  But if you’re looking for something a little more sophisticated and elegant to serve to guests, but still simple and hearty, you’ve found it here.  I was worried that the mustard would overpower the pork, but it didn’t at all.  I threw a little sage in with the thyme and garlic for the meat marinade, and it was a nice touch.

Completed/Remaining:  362/236

Leave a comment

Filed under dinner

Leave a Reply

