Salted Caramel Brownies

Oh yes.  Oh yes indeed.

I don’t know what I have done wrong with the Outrageous Brownies, but Ina claims (in Foolproof) that this is the same recipe, with some additions.  The only substitution I made was to use all semisweet chocolate instead of a combination of semisweet and unsweetened chocolate, and of course I added the caramel and salt that were added in this new recipe.  I think the fact that this recipe is half the size of the recipe for the Outrageous Brownies made a huge difference – I think that I was just using the wrong size pan, maybe?  I don’t know.  I do know that these were outrageously good.  My husband and I have a house divided when it comes to brownies.  He doesn’t really go for dense, chewy desserts – he’d go for a chiffon pie or something with a nice, light meringue on top instead.  The gooeyness of these brownies might have counteracted their density, because there were no complaints about them.  I, on the other hand, can’t think of a more perfect food than a brownie, and these were no exception.  Like every other woman in my demographic these days, I can put away just about anything with salted caramel slathered on it.

I noticed that the photo in the cookbook looks just like this one – there were a few pieces missing by the time anyone could be bothered to get the camera.  Hmmm…

 

Completed/Remaining:  381/305

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert

Leave a Reply

