Ultimate Pumpkin Pie

It’s about time!  There have been plenty of non-pie pumpkin desserts featured in Barefoot Contessa cookbooks, and finally she tackles everyone’s favorite Thanksgiving dessert.  It’s hard to improve on a classic, but this recipe (from Foolproof) does just that.  I was nervous about changing up the old favorite on the Libby’s pumpkin can, but this may be the new favorite.  I didn’t use the rum (I didn’t want to get that crazy on everyone’s favorite food holiday), and I added a pinch of ground cloves.

I made this the day before Thanksgiving, and could have sworn I had taken a photo on the day I made it, and so I skipped the photo for Thanksgiving day dessert.  I was wrong!  So, I have no photographic evidence of this lighter, less dense pumpkin pie that topped off everyone’s favorite food holiday.

One of our traditions is making at least two pies, because my husband considers pumpkin pie to be breakfast food, and we have to ensure that there’s enough for leftovers.  Whipped cream is obviously essential.

Completed/Remaining:  394/292

2 Comments

Filed under Dessert

2 responses to “Ultimate Pumpkin Pie

  1. Pingback: Catching up: Post-Thanksgiving Redux | The Contessa-Curessa Project

  2. Postscript: I actually made this twice – once for Thanksgiving, and once after Christmas. It was equally good the second time, but I forgot to take a photo again. We scarfed it down so quickly that I didn’t even think about it. It’s just that good!

Leave a Reply

