Carrot Cake with Ginger Mascarpone Frosting

My mom is here!  My mom is here!  My mom is here!

I don’t know who’s happiest that my mom is staying with us for a month – my kids, me, or even my husband.  We’re all thrilled to have her here, and I wanted to welcome her with one of her favorite treats.  Now, my mom is much more disciplined than I am, and will claim to be “just so full!” after nibbling on half of a bagel or a side salad with a light vinaigrette.  God bless her.  But she does like an occasional treat, and carrot cake is one of her favorites.

IMG_0310

I omitted the raisins, because:  gross.  But the walnuts got to stay.

You all know that I have a beloved carrot cake recipe, so it was hard to stray from that, but the ginger mascarpone frosting made it so, so worthwhile.  I followed the instructions for this recipe (from Foolproof) very carefully, hand-grating the carrots (which I might have had to do anyway, since the food processor died and I hadn’t received the replacement yet), and sifting the dry ingredients.  It still fell in the middle, but not much.  And I’m stuck on a 9×13 cake because layer cakes intimidate the everliving raisins out of me.

Completed/Remaining:  399/287

1 Comment

Filed under Dessert

One response to “Carrot Cake with Ginger Mascarpone Frosting

  1. Lucy

    The cake looks yummy! Say hi to your mom for me.

Leave a Reply

