White Foods

I saw this delicious photo in the thumbnails of the sites I frequent on my laptop, and I knew I had to click through to the article about it.

27APPE-articleInline

 

The title of the article was “In Praise of Pale Food,” and before I got past the headline, I knew it had to be about toddlers and their eating habits.  A google search for “beige food toddler” will explain why I knew that.  Apparently “eating the rainbow” sounds more fun in theory than in practice for the short people of the world, and not just in our house.  The writer of the article apparently has a 4-year-old daughter who gravitates toward the white stuff, and so she (the mom) has developed a couple of kid-friendly recipes that are complex enough for adults to appreciate, too. I don’t know if I could pass off Brie in macaroni and cheese to my kids, or if I’d even want to, but I like the idea of what she’s doing there. (And I also don’t blame her daughter one bit for passing on the raisins in the rice pudding.)

The white food phenomenon makes me think of this project, in so many ways. Most of the time, I try to incorporate different colors into a meal, if only because I’m a little embarrassed to take a photo of a beige plate.  But also, one of the most important lessons I’ve learned from cooking my way through the Barefoot Contessa cookbooks is that I should start with an onion or two, and probably some garlic, too, when I’m making a savory recipe. I think that before I cooked all of these recipes, I underestimated onions, to my own detriment. Now, when I’m dicing one up, I think of an article that I read in O magazine a while back (similar to this one) about how onions, while white and not part of the “eat the rainbow” campaign, are really very good for us.

All hail white food!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

