Cocktails/Mocktails

I don’t really drink. And by that, I mean that I drink very occasionally. I’m not a teetotaler, and I don’t have an allergy to alcohol or anything. It’s just that I’d rather chew my calories. Also, I’m deathly afraid of getting sick to my stomach. Some people might say that getting really drunk might solve that problem, but I’m not about to find out. The last couple of times I’ve been to the doctor, I’ve filled out the questionnaire about lifestyle choices by checking the “occasionally” box under “How often do you drink alcohol?” When the doctor or nurse asks more specific questions about just how often I drink, they cross out my “occasionally” and move me on over to the “never” category. I’m afraid I’m a discredit to my home state of Wisconsin because I don’t like beer, and I didn’t exactly take to Southern beverages, either – I think that mint juleps taste like trident gum dipped in gasoline.

The plus side to all of this, of course, is that I’m an excellent designated driver and cheap date. The down side is that I sometimes feel a little left out of the party. So, after our second son was born (coincidence? probably not), I started mixing things up and tried grape juice with cake-flavored vodka. “Why don’t more people drink THIS?” I asked my amused husband. “Probably because it tastes like children’s cough syrup.” Point taken. Plus, all that sugar was not kind to my stomach.

I moved on to this winning combination:

IMG_1471

That’s Trader Joe’s mango lemonade and Absolut Mandrin (apparently how they like to spell “mandarin” in Sweden). Don’t even bother with other brands of mango lemonade – the Trader Joe’s is really the best. This little taste of summer might be our favorite new winter tradition, and a bonus of the frigid weather is that our garage serves as a great vodka freezer. We’ll be trying out some of Ina’s cocktails from Barefoot in Paris when we host a crepe party here, so look for those in a few weeks.

Cheers!

1 Comment

Filed under Beverage

One response to “Cocktails/Mocktails

  1. Rachel

    I have the same problem!!! I found that alcohol (usually wine) can trigger migraines. I used to be quite the lush and miss the days of enjoying a class or three of wine at night. I have also found that I am missing out on a social pastime! I can usually do a vodka drink or two without any bad headaches or getting sick. I sometimes find myself wanting that third drink, as I am starting to feel the liquid fun come out! However, Chris is usually there with me to reel me in from going to far and triggering the migraine. Point is, I have to try this drink combo!

Leave a Reply

