Mexican Hot Chocolate

This recipe (from Foolproof) reminded me of the kitchen accessory that was all the rage when we were registering for our wedding 10+ years ago – the Mexican hot chocolate maker. It looked something like this, but I want to say that there was one that was humongous and obnoxious and impractical, and I wanted it. I don’t think we registered for it, but like everything that was extravagant and ridiculous from Williams-Sonoma, I pictured it in our little kitchen. I’m actually glad I don’t have it, because there’s enough stuff that I actually use that I don’t have room to store. But dreaming about all the useless uni-taskers was really fun in those pre-kid days before I day-dreamed about LEGO sets and researched car seats.

All of that has nothing to do with this recipe, which doesn’t require any special equipment, and is nothing short of delightful.

IMG_1488

I made it with almond milk instead of cow’s milk, and just a little bit was a really nice sweet something at the end of the evening. I put the rest of it in the fridge to add to tomorrow’s coffee – as if I need another reason to look forward to my morning coffee.

Completed/Remaining: 446/240

Leave a comment

Filed under Beverage, Dessert

Leave a Reply

