Raspberry Tart and Muesli with Red Berries

I overbought raspberries for crepe night – are you sensing a theme here? I wanted to make sure we had enough for the cocktails and some for dessert crepes, and I overestimated how many we’d need … by a lot.

I thought the Raspberry Tart (Barefoot Contessa Cookbook) would be a great use of them. I don’t have great love for shortbread crusts, but I was willing to try this one, and I was prepared to say how great it was, how wrong I was, and how it would be another great egg-free recipe, and something that would be good for bakers who are intimidated by a more traditional pie crust.

Nope.

IMG_1542

 

It burned, and smelled up my kitchen in the process. Boo. This was when there were still 10 minutes left in the baking time, and I was careful to follow the directions precisely. Needless to say, I was disappointed. I had already begun to warm the raspberry preserves to thin them enough to spread them evenly, and I didn’t want them to go to waste. I stuck them in the fridge and my husband poured some on vanilla ice cream with some of the raspberries, so my effort wasn’t a complete bust. But I’m still bummed about this crust, and my lukewarm feelings about shortbread live to see another day. I can’t even blame the oven – my son’s birthday cake turned out beautifully at the same temperature.

Between the shortbread disaster and a frozen garage door, I was feeling a little crabby. I made creamy cheddar grits and collard greens for dinner, which seemed to make everything better.

IMG_1543

I was pleasantly surprised, however, by the muesli recipe in Back to Basics. It reminded me a little bit of the refrigerated oatmeal recipes that are cropping up all over Pinterest, but I never bothered making them because … they’re on Pinterest. I read some of the reviews online, and saw that some reviewers made a few substitutions and added some milk before refrigerating, which I ended up doing, too. It was soft enough with enough chewiness to not be mushy, and sweet without being sticky and cloying. The photo was taken before it had set up to a more solid consistency in the refrigerator. I think it’s going to be one of my new favorite breakfasts.

IMG_1540

 

Completed/Remaining: 456/230

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

