Crème brûlée

I did it! This came out of my kitchen!

IMG_1567

 

I don’t think my husband has ever been more impressed, and I gave birth to his children, so that’s saying something.

My ramekins (really individual gratin dishes) are a little bit larger, but shallower, than most ramekins, but that actually worked well. Shallow = more surface area for browned sugar. There’s nothing wrong with that equation! The top tasted like delicately toasted marshmallows, and the inside was custardy and sweet. And who doesn’t love using a blowtorch? I totally impressed the kids with that little trick.

I used vanilla paste instead of vanilla extract, as I’m waiting for my next round of homemade vanilla extract to brew. Oddly enough, I found the  gratin dishes and the vanilla paste at TJ Maxx/ Homegoods, which is my favorite destination while my kids are at swim lessons. We use the gratin dishes for herbed baked eggs, which is nicer than the collective trough I used when I first made that recipe.

For the crème brûlée, we increased the baking time by 10-15 minutes, just to make absolutely sure that there was no more jiggle left. Other than that, I wouldn’t change a thing, and now that I know how easy they are, I’m going to add it to my special occasions repertoire. If you’re looking for something to impress your Valentine next week, try these!

Completed/Remaining: 463/223

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

