I Would Be Proud to Partake of Your Pecan Pie

I think if you are an American woman who was born between 1960 and 1980, the romantic comedy “When Harry Met Sally” was probably part of your adolescence or early adulthood. The “I’ll Have What She’s Having” scene, the wagon wheel coffee table, the tandem watching of Casablanca… all defining what it meant to be friends, and then more than friends, with someone you love.

One of my favorite scenes is this one: “I would be proud to partake of your pecan pie.”

Now, I don’t think I ever ate pecan pie when I was growing up. I made one or two with my friend Molly when she was having Thanksgiving dinner with her in-laws in Virginia for the first time, but I’m not sure we even tried those. I guess I just assumed it was nothing I’d love.

Until.

Oh my.

About a month ago, some friends gave us a pecan pie from The Goode Company in Texas.

Mercy.

We have nice friends. The pie came in its own little wooden box, and we savored it over several days, in tiny slices.

So, I decided to try Ina’s (from Foolproof) for a faux Thanksgiving dinner we’re having this week. I ran out of pecans (used some in that awful bacon concoction), and so I used a 1/2 c or so of walnuts to fill up the pie.

What kind of person makes a pecan pie with walnuts? A Yankee, that’s who. Some people might call in ingenuity. I call it “my toddler takes his boots and socks off every time we go anywhere, and I can’t deal with that for some measly pecans today.”

The pie was really simple to make, and I imagine it would be even easier if you had all the correct ingredients on hand. It would be great for a novice pie-maker.

IMG_1572

I promise to let you know how it tastes after our February Thanksgiving feast!

Completed/Remaining: 466/220

 

1 Comment

Filed under Dessert, Uncategorized

One response to “I Would Be Proud to Partake of Your Pecan Pie

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving in … February? | The Contessa-Curessa Project

Leave a Reply

