Chipotle and Rosemary Roasted Nuts

If you’ve spent any time with small children, you know that they learn through repetition. And if you’ve spent any time with my young son lately, you will know that the repetition involves a couple of the same books, over and over and over again.

One of his current favorites is “A Squirrel’s Tale” by Richard Fowler.

9780881101577_p0_v1_s260x420

In this little adventure, a squirrel is looking for the nuts that he buried, and now can’t find. After a series of near-death experiences,  (spoiler alert!) he finds his buried nuts in a pile of leaves.

If he found these particular nuts (from How Easy is That?), he would find them to be smokey, a little spicy, a little sweet, and a lot oily. I think I overgreased the pan, but the recipe called for a generous coating of vegetable oil. I hate the stickiness that a lot of roasted nut recipes can create on a sheet pan, so I dutifully (and generously) doused the pan with oil. A little dabbing with a paper towel helped, and next time I’ll know to use less oil.

But all in all, not a bad effort. I think I would use cumin and regular chili powder instead of chipotle next time, but I’m not much for a smokey flavor in anything, and I do love cumin.

And some advice: buy the unroasted nuts in the bulk section of your grocery store, if it has one. They are less expensive, and you won’t be spending money on unwanted ingredients or packaging because you can buy exactly the amount that you need.

IMG_1573

Completed/Remaining: 467/219

1 Comment

Filed under Appetizers

One response to “Chipotle and Rosemary Roasted Nuts

  1. Liz

    I made these one Thanksgiving. I am not a fan of thing that are very very spicy so I put only a fractional amount of chipotle in it but they were very good.

Leave a Reply

