Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies

I’ve been eyeing this recipe (from How Easy is That?) with suspicion. I already have the perfect recipe that uses Nutella. This is it:

1. Scoop Nutella out of jar. Be generous.

2. Spread it on a graham cracker, some toast, apple slices, Girl Scout cookies, or anything that stays still long enough for a good dollop of it.

3. Shovel into mouth.

If you are short on time, skip step 2, and proceed directly to step 3.

I guess my skepticism was warranted, because the shortbread cookie dough was dry, crumbly, and impossible to manage:

IMG_1598

 

Even though I am perfectly happy with my original Nutella recipe, above, I was looking forward to using this recipe because I’m always looking for uses for cookie cutters. I have a ton of them, and none of us are huge fans of traditional   cut-out sugar cookies, so a new recipe that uses them would have been nice.  When I found out that my firstborn was a boy, I went to a little kitchen shop and bought cookie cutters in the shapes of airplanes, helicopters, and trains, along with an apron with colorful turtles all over it. We have moose and dolphin cookie cutters, and maybe even a hedgehog.  I’ve used the Smitten Kitchen’s brownie cut-out cookies, which are awesome, but I’m always looking for more uses for all of these cookie cutters. We’ve even used them to cut out toast and rice krispie treats, just for fun. If you have a favorite, please share!

In the meantime, I’m sorry to say, stay away from the chocolate hazelnut cookies recipe from the Contessa. Bummer.

Completed/Remaining: 474/212

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies

  1. Pingback: Shortbread Hearts + “Linzer” Cookies + Pecan Shortbread + Shortbread Cookies with Dragees | The Contessa-Curessa Project

Leave a Reply

