Chili Tortilla Chips and Chocolate White Chocolate Chunk Cookies

The worst winter in recent memory continues to press on. We are frozen. Stoic, reserved native Minnesotans are fed up, and that’s saying something.

We can’t change the weather, but we can warm ourselves up from the inside.

I have a freezer full of grass-fed ground beef from our Community Supported Agriculture farm, so chili seemed like a good idea. Chili was traditional at my house on Monday nights when I was in junior high and high school. My mom was usually gone on those nights to her graduate school classes, and chili wasn’t her thing. It’s one of the first things I learned to cook at home, and we usually had everything we needed on hand. Most importantly, it filled up two hungry teenagers and our dad.

So, chili seemed like the right answer for our frozen Monday night this week. I made the chili tortilla chips (from Foolproof) to go with it. (Why not play with a little 380 degree oil in my first trip into the kitchen after sustaining second degree burns? Smart, right?) In a move that would likely cause any good little abuela to turn over in her grave, I used flour tortillas instead of corn tortillas. You can find corn tortillas in Minnesota, but not at every grocery store, and they are often out of stock. We almost always have flour tortillas, though. I omitted the chipotle chili powder because we’re not big on the smoky flavor, so I upped the other chili powder and cumin.

As you can see, it took me a little while to get the timing just right, so some of them got a little dark.

IMG_1801

But they tasted great, and they were actually really easy once I got the timing down. I let the oil cool completely in the pot before disposing of it, because I don’t need a frequent flyer card at the emergency room. I think these would be equally good with cinnamon and sugar for a fun dessert.

Speaking of dessert, nothing warms up the house like cookies. It was our turn to bring a treat for Ben’s class, so I made these chocolate white chocolate chunk cookies (say that 10 times real fast!) from Parties!

IMG_1802

 

They got mixed reviews. Our 6-year-old, who never met a cookie he didn’t like, didn’t really care for them. My husband, normally not a cookie kind of guy, snuck some out the door to take with him to work this morning. I like them a lot, and they were easy. I substituted shortening for half of the butter because it makes less of a flat cookie, so these are probably a little bit puffier than the original recipe would make.

 

Completed/Remaining: 477/209

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

