Appliance Reviews, and a New Blog to Read!

When we first moved into our new house a few months ago, I would have told you that we didn’t need any new kitchen appliances. My husband would have wholeheartedly agreed. There’s something about packing up all of your worldly belongings and unpacking them again, which makes you realize just how many worldly belongings you have. But, as luck would have it, the movers damaged a crock pot during one of our staging sessions, the bowl of my food processor cracked, and our toaster died a miserable, smelly death.

downton-abbey-toaster-465

The food processor bowl was replaced easily enough with a call to Cuisinart. Yay for customer service!

The slow cooker (crock pot) required more research. The movers gave us a credit to cover the replacement cost of the one that was broken. I chose this Cuisinart model, which I love, because I can brown things in it first, and then switch it to slow cooking mode. It’s a little smaller than my old one, but so far it’s been great.

cuisinart-6-qt.-3-in-1-multicooker

Last but not least, the toaster. Did you know there’s an entire tumblr devoted to the toaster featured on Downton Abbey (pictured with the dear Mrs. Hughes above)? Just when you think that you’ve seen everything there is to see…

Toast has what my husband has deemed a sacramental quality in my family. My dad’s dad was a bread delivery  man, and he would bring home some day-old bread for his family. My dad was one of three brothers, and legend has it that they’d sit around the kitchen table with a loaf of bread and a toaster every night and polish the whole thing off. I believe it. One of his brothers became the state heavyweight wrestling champion in high school – I think a lot of it had to do with the toast. So, even when I was growing up, if you were still a little hungry at night before bed, you got some toast. I didn’t realize until I was an adult that not everybody ate toast at night. But what’s not to love?

DownloadedFile

Needless to say, being without a toaster at our house wasn’t an option. I researched some toasters, hoping to find one that would last us a while, but I quickly found a divide among toasters. There were the $20 versions that looked like they would burn your house down, and the $700 versions that are designed to look old-fashioned, but for that price, they’d better unload the dishwasher and take out the garbage, too. WWMHD? (What would Mrs. Hughes do?)

I posted something about it on facebook, and within minutes, a wise friend recommended the Breville Lift & Look from casa.com. It definitely came closer to our price point, and it was already tried and tested by the friend who recommended it. Breville is an Australian company, so some of the buttons are labeled in the most darling way – “a bit more.” I think it will serve our toasting needs really nicely.

fps-67899_1z

 

 

Last but not least, I have a new blog for you to read, and just in time for Pi(e) Day (3.14). My hilarious and brilliant friend Jenny has started a pie blog, O Pieoneers. I can’t wait to see what she has in store for us!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

