Pear Clafouti

I skipped over this recipe (in Barefoot in Paris) for years, because a) I don’t care for pears, and b) the title made me think that it was too fancy and too difficult for a mid-week dessert.

Imagine my surprise when not only did the whole thing come together beautifully and easily, but it also tasted amazing. I think we’d rank it among the top 20 desserts from this project so far, not only for appearance, but also for taste. Plus, it’s fun to say. Clafouti. I’m already imagining all kinds of different seasonal fruit variations on this. If I put peaches in it, my husband may never leave the house again.

IMG_1817 IMG_1818 IMG_1819 IMG_1820

It was more custard-y than we would have thought, but that was a nice surprise. I didn’t have pear brandy or anything resembling it, so I just omitted it altogether, and maybe threw in an extra dash of vanilla extract. I wouldn’t say the experience suffered any.

If you add powdered sugar at the end, make sure that you do that step immediately before serving, because the powdered sugar kind of soaks into the cake, and the visual effect is lost.

I used the marked-up sheet pan in honor of one of my favorite commenters. 🙂

Completed/Remaining: 489/197

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pear Clafouti

  1. Lizburrowschapin@aol.com

    Hey Carrie. I have made this!! I used pears, but i also did a fresh cherries one once. Both great!! 🙂

  2. Lizburrowschapin@aol.com

    Lol… I just saw that!! Lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

