Manic Weekend

This is what happens when the weather cools down, the calendar slows down (a little bit), we start to get into our groove, and there’s a new cookbook. I cook. We eat. I blog about it. It’s a little bit dizzying at first, but never fear – I’ll run out of the exciting/easy stuff in another week or two, and then I’ll burn out and have a long, long lull. That’s why it’s taken me five years to get this far – I have a very short attention span. It’s kind of amazing that I still pay any attention to my kids, because their newness wore off a while ago.

But as long as there’s a shiny new cookbook, let me show you what I made!

The Zucchini & Goat Cheese Tart from Make it Ahead became the Zucchini & Boursin Tart for dinner last night. It was delightful.

IMG_2689

 

Tonight, we had Ham & Leek Empanadas and the arugula salad that should have been served with the chicken and bread last week, but wasn’t. Both recipes came from Make it Ahead. They were both really, really good, and they played well together. I think that just about anything that called for crescent roll dough between the years of 1986-1999 could substitute some puff pastry and some higher-end ingredients and make for a passable fancy lunch. These were really, really good, and the salad balanced them out.

IMG_2691

We got some pie pumpkins in our CSA box, so I roasted them and made pumpkin oatmeal bread from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. My house smells pretty fantastic right now.

IMG_2692

Completed/Remaining: 570/216

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Manic Weekend

  1. I ate half a loaf of that pumpkin oatmeal bread (loaded with craisins and pumpkin seeds) single handedly on Friday 😉

  2. Craisins and pumpkin seeds! Just when I thought I couldn’t like you any more than I already did…

Leave a Reply

