Tres Leches Cake

I don’t know how it took me, a girl from The Land of Milk and More Milk who minored in Spanish, three and a half decades to try this cake. It might be my new favorite thing.

Tres Leches means “three milks” in Spanish, which describes the sweetened condensed milk, evaporated milk, and whipping cream that are mixed together and poured over this cake after it has baked. Ina describes it (in Make it Ahead) as a cross between a cake and a pudding, and that’s kind of what it is, but it’s not as disgusting as all that. I substituted vanilla extract for the almond extract, because even though I love almonds, I don’t love almond extract. I had help poking holes in the cake and scraping the seeds from a vanilla bean.

IMG_2832 IMG_2836

Completed/Remaining: 572/214

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Tres Leches Cake

  1. Darcie

    I just got Ina’s new cookbook & am completely overwhelmed. I want to make almost everything but don’t know where to start, and I was wishing I could hear how the recipes turned out for another home cook. So I’m SO glad to have found your blog!

  2. Darcie

    PS: Just read that your husband is an episcopal priest. My husband is a minister, too. (Presbyterian)

  3. Linda

    i made the pork tenderloin and it was delicious and easy. I’m not crazy about the chutney though. Anyone make the Tres Leches cake?

Leave a Reply

