Blueberry Bran Muffins

I don’t know what took me so long to make these (from Make It Ahead), but it was probably the fact that they call for wheat bran, which doesn’t usually appear in our kitchen. I had wheat germ, and oat bran, but not wheat bran. I found some in the bulk section at Whole Foods, and made these last night.

This might be my favorite muffin recipe, ever. I wasn’t too jazzed about them at first – they don’t look like much, even in the glossy pages of the professionally photographed cookbook. But the combination of Greek yogurt, honey (I used Greek honey from Phoenicia), and fresh blueberries, along with the heartiness of the wheat bran … wow. They’re a little bit addictive.

IMG_5336

I was a little worried at first, because the recipe says that it yields 12 muffins, but I made 23 decent-sized muffins out of the recipe. I’m taking a dozen over to a friend today, because she just had her third baby (superwoman!), and I signed up to bring her dinner for tonight. I love, love, love bringing food to new moms. I remember the extraordinary gratitude I felt when we brought each of our babies home, and people showed up at the door with food. I was starving from nursing 24/7, and too exhausted to even think about boiling water. If that sounds awful, it really wasn’t. I was too blissed out on baby-love to mind too much. Muffins might be the perfect post-partum food gift. These have protein from eggs and Greek yogurt, fiber from the wheat bran, and antioxidants in the berries. A person could theoretically eat them with one hand while feeding her baby. And they’re so portable and easy to bring, and can be frozen if there’s already enough food in the house. Usually, older siblings like them, too, although my kids are weird and wouldn’t touch these. More for me!

Completed/remaining: 612/174

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

