Grilled New York Strip Steaks

It’s spring!

IMG_3026

And to me, spring means grilling weather. I suppose we could have broken out the grill all winter long, but it was kind of wet and dreary, and I guess we’re still adjusting to living in a place where we could cook outside in January.

These New York Strip Steaks (from Make It Ahead) called for a weird spice rub. Coffee, brown sugar, chili powder, crushed red pepper, salt, pepper, and garlic. Actually, it called for garlic powder, but I used fresh garlic, because I don’t remember the last time we had garlic powder in the house.

IMG_5243

I didn’t know what to expect. Coffee? On a steak? And, you might remember that I have some a lot of difficulty with the grill. So, I enlisted my handsome helper, and armed him with a timer and a meat thermometer.

IMG_3007

The steaks were perfect. The combination of ingredients in the spice rub were just right, and we’re definitely bookmarking this for future use.

IMG_3009 IMG_3011

Do you know what else happens in Houston in the Spring? The rodeo! Specifically, The Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. Ben called it the “radio,” and it was so cute that I didn’t try too hard to correct him. We went at the end of the kids’ spring break, and had so much fun. It’s not unlike the Minnesota State Fair in a lot of ways. We rode the light rail from Palmer to the rodeo, which was huge excitement in and of itself for little Ben. The weather was great, and we saw so many cool and interesting things. And, there was a giant slide. Who doesn’t love a giant slide?

IMG_5204

Completed/remaining: 613/173

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Grilled New York Strip Steaks

  1. SueHamblen

    The spice rub is the best. Ina Garten is coming to Houston (Jones Hall)on 11/4/15 at 8pm for an on stage interview. Tickets are available at spahouston.org. I mentioned this to you Friday evening at Palmer.

  2. Ansley Browns

    Oh my goodness she’s coming here?? May I join y’all?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

