Banner Week

We’ve had a very exciting week!

My friend Ansley and I went to see Ina Garten last Wednesday. I was so excited to go to see and hear her, but I was also a little apprehensive. What if she was mean? Or worse – boring? She was of course, wonderful. She told some stories that I had heard, and some that I had not, especially about the early days of owning the Barefoot Contessa specialty food store in the Hamptons. People give her flak for talking about her husband, Jeffrey, too much, but I get it. I’m beyond lucky to have my own Jeffrey (named Neil) in my life, and so I understand what she’s saying. She talked about how important he was in her success, by encouraging her, and gently needling her into projects just outside her comfort zone to challenge and engage her. She’s clearly grateful for that, and I think it’s nice. She talked about her transitions from working in Washington DC to owning a specialty food store to writing cookbooks to appearing on television.

IMG_8813

Toward the end of the evening, in a packed audience at Jones Hall, she took some questions. Some were about her favorite recipes (she claims not to have any, but the filet of beef with gorgonzola sauce and the french apple tart came up an awful lot), or specific techniques (one woman was obsessed with the paddle attachments on stand mixers). I turned to Ansley at the beginning of the questions and said, “Do I dare?” And she said, “You do! You dare!” So I raced to the microphone and told her that while Julia Child taught her to cook, she taught me to cook, and I’d made over 650 of her recipes (applause from the audience – OMG), and that I love her. Yes, I said that I love her. Then I asked her if she had any advice for someone who might write a cookbook today. She said, “Write the cookbook you’d like to read.” Very nice.

I came home with a signed edition of her newest cookbook (thank you Ansley!!) and new excitement about cooking.

So, we hosted two dinner parties this weekend!

On Friday night, we had eleven people here. Four of them were kids (including our own two), which is kind of easy, and kind of not. For the rest of us, I made Ina’s caesar salad from make it ahead, chicken marbella, butternut squash, apple crisp, and Ina’s English chocolate crisps from make it ahead. I tried to make the roasted baby pumpkins from the original Barefoot Contessa cookbook, and even made the homemade applesauce to go with them, but it was such a complete pain that I gave up after one. There’s a reason that recipe waited so long… it’s just not practical. And who wants to eat a few tablespoons of applesauce out of a hollowed out gourd? I guess we’ll never know, because I gave up.

IMG_8835

English Chocolate Crisps, which taste better than they look

IMG_8834

It took me a solid ten minutes to hollow out that one little pumpkin. But the applesauce did make the house smell delicious.

IMG_8836

Flowers from our friends. Flower food, not cocaine, on the silver tray next to them. If I had actual cocaine, my house would be SO much cleaner.

On Sunday night, we had a much smaller guest list, and I made the caesar salad (and remembered to take a photo this time!). It’s now Neil’s favorite salad.

That's feta cheese and not roquefort, because have we met?

That’s feta cheese and not roquefort, because have we met?

We also had roasted salmon, asparagus, and I tried Ina’s twice baked sweet potatoes from Make It Ahead. It’s quite possible that I did something wrong, but hollowing out the (once-)baked sweet potatoes proved difficult. So, I separated the flesh from the skin (wow – I sound like a creep), and I made kind of a gratin from the rest of the ingredients. It was rich, but very tasty.

Again, this tasted way better than it looks.

Again, this tasted way better than it looks.

We had brownies for dessert, and all slept well after all that entertaining. Now we’re on the countdown to Thanksgiving!

Completed/remaining: 657/129

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Banner Week

  1. Robot Instructor

    How does the Robot instructor and guest get an invite to sample the tasty food?

  2. Holmes Gwin

    I actually met Jeffery once…I wish I’d sent him away with a cookbook for an autograph. He was a member of the Board of Directors of a company I used to work for. The toured the trading floor once and shook a few hands.

    I’m a former Palmer, btw, living in exile in Colorado the past 6 years.

  3. Pingback: HOW DARE SHE | The Contessa-Curessa Project

Leave a Reply

