Dayton or Bust

I am going to my first-ever writing conference in Dayton, Ohio this week.

I am ridiculously excited.

The conference was started in memory of Erma Bombeck, who might have been the first funny writer I ever read, if you don’t count the comic strips. I was the weird kid in middle school who read the goofy mom memoirs, and I even used an Erma Bombeck piece for a forensic speaking competition. I adore her writing, and I’m so excited to learn from other people who admire her. (If you’ve never heard of her, or even if it’s just been a while since you’ve read her stuff, you owe yourself a trip to the library.)

I don’t ever expect to make any money from writing, but it’s been a great hobby for me. Some people go to fly fishing retreats, and some people go to needlepoint workshops. I’m flying to Ohio to learn how to entertain you people better. You’re welcome!

This is also the first time that Neil is going to be flying solo with the kids for longer than an overnight. I think he is excited, too, and I’m so grateful to him and the boys for springing me loose for a few days. I’ve been gone for three hours and I miss them all so much already, but I think this will be good for all of us.

Just for kicks, here’s what went down this morning when Neil dropped me off at the airport.

image

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Dayton or Bust

  1. Suzanne

    The perfect retreat for you right now! I love your writing and am so glad you are there!

Leave a Reply

