You Take It, and You Say Thank You

For the past couple of years, Neil has been following the Mockingbird Blog, which describes itself as “an ever-growing catalog of the ways in which a Christian understanding of reality – what people are like, what God is like, and how the two intersect – is borne out around us.” They focus heavily on grace, which is one of Neil’s very favorite things, and they write about pop culture, current events, and literature with a lens of a Christian understanding of grace. I will admit that I got fully drawn in by their post about The Elf on the Shelf, that love-it-or-hate-it little Christmas nymph.

I’ve been following Mockingbird since then, often silently nodding my head in agreement, and sometimes cringing in self-recognition. So today, I feel extremely grateful that they published something I wrote about grace. It has taken me over a year and a half to write this piece, because I needed some distance from the events I describe in it. I also needed some time to think about how I’d share something so personal about our son, and our family life. I share a lot on this blog and on Facebook, but I’m always thinking about the fishbowl that my kids already inhabit as clergy kids. I hold a lot back, and there’s a lot that we don’t share. There’s an intense, often bizarre, interest in my family, and so I needed to be brave and step out of my comfort zone to write this. I remain protective of our private lives, but I will say, this was worth writing just for the Scrubs and I Love Lucy screenshots and a Led Zeppelin song at the end. I already feel cooler.

Thank you, Mockingbird, for helping me share this part of our story. I’m taking it, and I’m saying thank you.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

