Someone’s in the Kitchen with Carrie

It’s back to school time! The kids love being in Kindergarten and third grade so far, and we are looking forward to being back in our routine. I’m still getting my pep talk routine down, but I feel like that can always be a work in progress.

IMG_5362

I made a peach cobbler from Smitten Kitchen which was, unusually for my experience with that website, pretty disappointing. I think maybe I used peaches that were too big. Or something. I dunno. At least they weren’t laced with listeria.

IMG_5191

We’ve also made a handful of chocolate cake recipes at Rowan’s request, and we’ve discovered that the best ones involve melting chocolate (New York Times recipe) versus cocoa powder (America’s Test Kitchen). I buy melting chocolate in the shape of discs from Central Market for this purpose, and for the chocolate silk pie that everybody loves. I love having my very own Star Baker in the kitchen with me, regardless of how the final product turns out.

IMG_4434

Ben was fixing something different in the kitchen last weekend: germinating milkweed seeds to expand our butterfly garden in the rectory’s backyard. There is a space to the side of the house that doesn’t have much going on in it, so we’re going to try our hand at monarch husbandry. We had quite a few caterpillars and a few chrysalii (?) last spring, so here’s hoping for more!

IMG_5272

The best thing that happened last weekend, though, was that I got a much-needed nap (back to school prep is tiring!), and Neil found himself an Ina Garten recipe that’s not in any of her cookbooks yet. It’s called a lemon drop, which might just be the perfect late summer drink when late summer is promising to last until Thanksgiving.

IMG_5317

A few weeks ago, I was lamenting the fact that once summer break ended, I wouldn’t have anything to look forward to, for a while anyway. So, just to keep things interesting, I ordered a pressure cooker this week. I’m going to be just like Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s, except I haven’t been that thin since I was a fetus, and hopefully I won’t blow up our whole kitchen. Stay tuned!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

