Another Ina Evening

I love it when a new Barefoot Contessa cookbook comes out – have I mentioned that yet? Just when the to-do list in the old ones starts to get stale, I have a fresh new list to work through. The poor dishwasher can barely keep up, but he’s kind of cute, so I’ll keep him.

Tonight, from Cooking for Jeffrey, we ate cider roasted pork tenderloin with plum chutney, and spaghetti squash sautéed with garlic and Parmesan. I especially appreciated the careful instructions about working with hot chutney – I felt like Ina was guiding me through it to prevent another kitchen burn (yikes). I used the pressure cooker for the first step of the spaghetti squash, and it made quick work of softening it up without having to turn on the oven for over an hour. It’s still stupid hot here, so I appreciate that. The spaghetti squash recipe proves the conventional wisdom that everything is better with butter and garlic.

The kids devoured the pork (minus the chutney). I have dough rising for saffron challah tonight – I can’t wait!

Completed/remaining: 688/182

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

