Roasted Vegetable Ratatouille with Polenta

Hello again! It’s been a while. My dad is known for saying that life is like a roll of toilet paper: the closer you get to the end, the faster it goes. (Poet laureate of Dogwood Lane.) I don’t know if that means I’m getting old, but life is going awfully fast these days. Rowan is a long, lanky nine-year-old, and Ben will turn six in the next few weeks. This summer will mark three years that we’ve lived in Houston, which means that Ben is about the same age now that Rowan was when we moved here. That hardly seems possible.

Neil and I took a wonderful trip to Washington, DC in February, while my parents stayed with our kids. I don’t know who had the most fun. In March, we all went “home” to North and South Carolina for Spring Break. Work has been taking up a lot of our time, and school has been filling in the gaps where work might have left us a minute to catch our breath. I’m not complaining – we wouldn’t have it any other way. But it hasn’t left a lot of time for cooking.

So, it felt like a special treat to spend some time in the kitchen tonight, when I made roasted vegetable ratatouille with creamy polenta from Cooking with Jeffrey. It was delicious, and beautiful, and ridiculously easy to make. When I looked at the leftovers and realized we probably wouldn’t eat them tomorrow in their current state, I pureed them in the food processor to make into a roasted vegetable marinara for the freezer.

IMG_9482

Completed/remaining: 710/160

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

