One from Ina, One from Deb

I made the Roasted Salmon Tacos from Cooking with Jeffrey this week, and they were delicious. I went easy on the spices on the salmon, because (miraculously!) the kids will sometimes eat salmon, and I didn’t want to mess with that. Even so, these did not lack for flavor, and I ate the leftovers cold, minus the tortillas, for lunch the next day. The slaw isn’t heavily sauced or sweet – it’s simply dressed with white wine vinegar and fresh dill.

IMG_0648.JPG

Earlier in the week, I made a smitten kitchen recipe for roasted sweet potatoes and spiced chickpeas. This recipe avoided my major complaint about sweet potatoes for weeknight meals – that they take so long to cook. By slicing them into wedges, the cooking time was cut way down, and the whole meal was delicious. The dollop of lime-infused Greek yogurt added just the right touch.

IMG_0627

Speaking of Ina and Deb, I’m on their home turf this week, at the mockingbird conference in NYC. I am restraining myself from stalking them, and having so much fun meeting friends I’ve only known online and on the phone – the devoted editors at mockingbird, and other contributors I’ve admired from afar for a long time. I even got to introduce my dear friend Sarah, and I heard the amazing Fleming Rutledge speak, which might have been even better than if I had gotten to meet the Barefoot Contessa or the smitten kitchen. I’m having the time of my life, and I think the boys are having fun at home, too. I owe Neil whatever dinner he’d like when I get home, because he managed field day, music lessons, and double dentist appointments without complaining once.

Completed/remaining: 714/156

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “One from Ina, One from Deb

  1. Linda Klitzke

    blockquote, div.yahoo_quoted { margin-left: 0 !important; border-left:1px #715FFA solid !important; padding-left:1ex !important; background-color:white !important; } Wonderful on all counts. Blessings abound. Mom

    Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPad

Leave a Reply

